The mission of our studio is to provide and hold space for the practice of self-exploration on the path to self-discovery. The path of self-discovery is facilitated in our studio by the practice and observance of the 8 limbs of yoga.

What are the “limbs”? Below is a brief description and the method by which we address each limb:

Asthanga –The Eight Limbs of Yoga: Yama, Niyama, Pranayama, Asana, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi

  • Yama

The Yamas are five suggested themes for personal development and progression. Personal development is vital to the development of a loving, caring community.

  • Niyama

The Niyamas are five suggested themes for self-study and self-knowledge. The ancients teach that self-knowledge is the path to divine happiness and joy.

*We support the study and practice of the Yamas and Niyamas by way of direct instruction, literature, workshops and collaborative community fellowship.

  • Pranayama

Pranayama is the practice, observation and encouragement of controlled breathing. Breath control is a fundamental part of all physical and mental activity. In addition to breath, there is also a focus on personal energy and energetic flow.

  • Asana

Asana is the practice of moving one’s body through physical postures or poses. Thoughtful expressions with and through the body teach us to carry the peace and confidence we gain on our mats into the walk of our everyday lives.

*Asana and Pranayama are supported by modeling and facilitation in the yoga (asana) and meditation classes we offer. In addition, we have frequent workshops that focus on further development and practice of these limbs.

  • Pratyahara

Pratyahara is the practice of turning one’s focus internal and detaching from the stress and distraction of the external. Like a turtle withdrawing into its shell, we withdraw our focus from the convention of our external lives to the delicate nuance of our internal lives.

  • Dharana

Dharana is the act of concentration. Much of our lives can be spent in frustrating distraction. The practice of concentration is our tool against these frustrations, and it sets the foundation for a more self-regulated mind.

*Pratyahara and Dharana can be brought into practice through meditation and techniques of internal reflection like journaling and chanting. Our studio holds facilitated meditations with the purpose of guiding new as well as experienced practitioners through tried and true techniques that have been employed for generations. In addition to meditation, we incorporate journaling and chanting into workshops and designated yoga classes.

  • Dhyana

Dhyana is meditation, meaning “to become aware or familiar with.” Our aim

is to become aware and more familiar with ourselves, both inside and out.

  • Samadhi

Samadhi is the unifying of all the other limbs such that one becomes transparent before the Oneness and Essence of All that Is.

*Dhyana and especially Samadhi are very personal, internal states of awareness. We encourage daily, independent practice of yoga as well as group and community practice in order to lead to the experience of Samadhi.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: